Warpshadow.com

An unofficial discussion board dedicated to the Tyranids of Warhammer 40,000 (tm Games Workshop)
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 12:14 pm 
Offline
Deathleaper
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:25 pm
Posts: 187
I was scouring through the FAQs and wanted to see how it affected our playstyle.

BTW the FAQs can be found here if you havent seen them.


1. Biovores got an upgrade (WOOO!) Template weapons now affect ALL levels. So feel free to drop those bio-bombs on those cowardly fleshbags hiding in those buildings.
Source: Here

Still looking through them. Feel free to add any opinions/revelations.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 4:48 am 
Offline
Great Devourer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 5:39 am
Posts: 5676
Location: Canberra, Australia
I don't have the time to more than glance at it.

I did notice even though it doesn't relate to us:
Games Workshop wrote:
Q: When determining the Strength of a vehicle’s Ram, are the Tank and Heavy bonuses cumulative?
A: No.
That isn't a clarification. It is an outright change to the rule.

_________________
"I know you may find the Tyranids physically repellent to look at but believe you me, you don't want to let them out of your sight." Hojan Storall Technomagos of the Adeptus Mechanicus

http://album.warpshadow.com/v/Yaleling/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 5:44 pm 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:51 pm
Posts: 313
Just want to say, it looks like Maleceptor's got a little bit better. Witchfire powers with no weapon profile hit automatically. They could be good at zapping fliers. =)

Whooooo!!

https://www.facebook.com/1575682476085719/photos/pb.1575682476085719.-2207520000.1462747349./1610527042601262/?type=3&theater


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 11:07 pm 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2045
Location: Los Angeles
I'm particularly fond of the IC rules that prohibit multiple Psyker ICs in the same unit from spamming the same power. Enough of those Eldar/DE/Harlequin Psychic Shriek Ld bomb units that arrive with pinpoint accuracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 11:49 pm 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:51 pm
Posts: 313
The more I read this, the more I love it. If you have the skyfire special rule, you can fire blast and template weapons at other flyers and FMC's. It means the Harpy and Hive Crone just got a whole lot more useful. Vector Strike + Drool cannon? HVC from the harpy at any flyer? Not too bad of a buff for Nid FMC's. =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 6:34 am 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:55 am
Posts: 250
Location: Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas
I'm most pleased that the Patriarch can psychic shriek tool he's blue in the face with the changes to witchfire powers.

Finally


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 6:55 am 
Offline
Big One
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:13 pm
Posts: 618
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
DigestedFotoGuy wrote:
The more I read this, the more I love it. If you have the skyfire special rule, you can fire blast and template weapons at other flyers and FMC's. It means the Harpy and Hive Crone just got a whole lot more useful. Vector Strike + Drool cannon? HVC from the harpy at any flyer? Not too bad of a buff for Nid FMC's. =)


They also got a big nerf... if you jink (and our flyers need to!) then you can't vector strike, that hurts all our flyers but cripples the crone IMO.

_________________
10000 Nids
3000 GSC
10000 Imperial Guard
5000 Eldar
5500 Marines

In that order!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 12:28 pm 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:51 pm
Posts: 313
xsquidz wrote:

They also got a big nerf... if you jink (and our flyers need to!) then you can't vector strike, that hurts all our flyers but cripples the crone IMO.


Yeah, and they can't bombing run either, it means we have to think about our jink saves a lot more. Imo, it's worth the hit, if it means we can HVC and Drool cannon other flyers. How easy would be to sneak a Harpy behind any flyer and hit it with a S9 blast?

Edit: Just clicked in, would that mean you can't jink save vs. a Drool Cannon, because it's a template weapon?


Last edited by DigestedFotoGuy on Tue May 10, 2016 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 3:19 am 
Offline
Norn Queen wut can has cookie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:11 am
Posts: 2262
Location: the Netherlands
That's not the only blatant rulechange, Jun. There's something about not being able to move through walls of ruins, while before they stated models are generally assumed to be able to move through any and all difficult terrain. I'm glad this is a first draft, because there's some weird stuff still in there. But there's also a lot of clarifications.

I'm curious to see how this ends up :)

_________________
Girl Gamers

Hive Fleet Charybdis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 10:18 am 
Offline
Little One
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:16 am
Posts: 154
Psykers can now only cast as many powers as their level - so a Lvl 1 psyker can only cast one power, even though they may know two. This is a pretty big deal, how could they have missed that specific chestnut out of the rules in the first place? Or have I misunderstaood where it said in the BRB:

Quote:
If, after attempting to manifest a psychic power, you still have Warp Charge points left, you can attempt to manifest another psychic power with the same unit,


Also, re: the Skyfire and blast, the specific FAQ states you can target another flyer or FMC, however the FAQ preceding it states you cannot hit a flyer with a blast or template. So you can target as much as you want, you cannot hit them. Don't ask me to explain it, I can't it's just the prevailing opinion on one of the Tyranid Facebook groups that it cancels each other out.

I'm particularly miffed about Skyshield with their 'petals' up NOT offering a cover save, they only get the invul save. So that screws my Venomthrope 2+ cover :( and makes a mockery of all the other cover rules they have and are FAQing. Which brings me to the 25% rule about 'toe in' for some very specific units and conveniently people are clinging to other non specified units thereefore being unaffected. It also doesn't address those terrain datasheets that categorically state you get a save regardless of 25% coverage - they really need to clarify that with - 'unless stated in the specific terrain datasheet' or 'for these units this rule over-rules terrain datasheets'.

_________________
For little plastic men - www.40kaddict.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 1:46 pm 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:51 pm
Posts: 313
Dwez wrote:

Also, re: the Skyfire and blast, the specific FAQ states you can target another flyer or FMC, however the FAQ preceding it states you cannot hit a flyer with a blast or template. So you can target as much as you want, you cannot hit them. Don't ask me to explain it, I can't it's just the prevailing opinion on one of the Tyranid Facebook groups that it cancels each other out.



It says in the FAQ:
Q: Do Blast weapons hit Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures?
A: No.

and then the skyfire thing is:
Q: Can a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature or Zooming Flyer be targeted by a Blast or Template weapon with the Skyfire special rule?
A: Yes.

I believe it hinges on the unit/weapon having the Skyfire special rule, whereas the preceding faq was if an errant blast or template hits a swooping flyer. That's how I read it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 4:05 am 
Offline
Little One
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:16 am
Posts: 154
DigestedFotoGuy wrote:
I believe it hinges on the unit/weapon having the Skyfire special rule, whereas the preceding faq was if an errant blast or template hits a swooping flyer. That's how I read it.


I'm inclined to agree but folk are going all RAW instead of RAI, but then with some of these FAQs I don't think anyone can ever possibly suggest what was 'intended' in the eyes of GW. Their argument is 'in reality you can target any jet plane as it flies above you with a grenade but you're never going to hit it', yep, that's where we find ourselves.

I actually wish at this point they just brought out 8th Edition. I know everyone gets angry with new editions but the amount of FAQs and the fundamental changes that these anwers are bringing to the game a whole new ruleset would just solve a lot of these problems.

_________________
For little plastic men - www.40kaddict.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 1:16 pm 
Offline
Big One
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:13 pm
Posts: 618
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
New FAQ Draft is out for the cult and it makes them allies of convenience instead of battle brothers. In my eyes this makes two crappy factions (nids and gene cult) even worse... please flame GW online like I am lol.

I just really don't get it. The white dwarf says they ally like tyranids (which are BB with themselves) but even if it didn't... nids need all the help we can get, nerf Eldar instead lol.

_________________
10000 Nids
3000 GSC
10000 Imperial Guard
5000 Eldar
5500 Marines

In that order!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:07 pm 
Offline
Zoatibix
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 3:34 pm
Posts: 339
Location: Vancouver, Canada
New FAQs are up.

Nids: https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp- ... s_v1.1.pdf

Cult: https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp- ... s_v1.0.pdf

_________________
Niall
Hive Fleet Manticore
So many bugs to paint and play with, so little time...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newest FAQ and what it means for Tyranids.
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:38 am 
Offline
Little One

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:44 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
HiveFleetManticore wrote:


Also the following:

Shield of Baal - Exterminatus: https://17890-presscdn-0-51-pagely.netd ... s_v1.1.pdf

Shield of Baal - Leviathan: https://17890-presscdn-0-51-pagely.netd ... n_v1.0.pdf

_________________
Hive Fleet Giwakwa (Kraken)
Great Chenoo (Genestealer Cult)
Angels Vermillion (Blood Angels)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Web Design for Warpshadow.com by SMIS Ltd.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group