Warpshadow.com

An unofficial discussion board dedicated to the Tyranids of Warhammer 40,000 (tm Games Workshop)
It is currently Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:17 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:44 am 
Offline
Big One

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:01 am
Posts: 594
Location: Glens Falls NY
Reading over my dex and I realized we cam use tyrants ability to outflank with a tervigon, a bit unorthodox and sounded nutty at first, but it has potential. Here's Idealy how it works


Turn one- do the usual. Advance, assault what's able but keep the tyrant safe,
Turn two- outflank with tervigon(rolls permited) spawn the termas and advance from the side

Result your putting a MC right in enemy lines and it spawns multiple units, and since I take multiple genes you can apply alot of. Pressure and corner most enemy units,
On all 3 sides. most effective against IG, chaos, necron, possably tau.
The army's that like to hold gun lines or approach from the one edge.

_________________
Such beautiful name with a dark secret. Welcome to the nightmare that is HIVE FLEET LAMIA!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 1:45 pm 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2048
Location: Los Angeles
You are not allowed to spawn the turn the Tervigon arrives. Spawning occurs at the very start of Movement, before the Tervigon moves. If the Tervigon isn't on the board before it moves, the time to spawn has already passed.

You get a MC into their backfield right away. Provide it enough protection (judicious use of terrain, other distractions) and it's still a serious threat. You just can't provide it a Gaunt shield until the turn after.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 5:51 pm 
Offline
Big One

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:01 am
Posts: 594
Location: Glens Falls NY
Wouldn't reserves enter before the movement step? I know it counts as it's move. But wouldn't it still mean before the movement step actualy started.

_________________
Such beautiful name with a dark secret. Welcome to the nightmare that is HIVE FLEET LAMIA!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 6:23 pm 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2048
Location: Los Angeles
Tyranid Codex p.52 wrote:
Spawn Termagants: A Tervigon can spawn Termagants in the Tyranid Movement phase before it has moved...

Spawn Termagants can't come into effect if the model isn't on the board. If the Tervigon is in Reserves, it has to move onto the board first, thereby nullifying the ability to spawn per the rule listed above.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 5:28 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 6:44 am
Posts: 2427
Location: Germany Trier
tropic thunder is right. The idea of outflanking a tervigon is not that new :wink: and sadly you can't spawn the turn he arrives because of the reasons described above

_________________
Warpshadow Gallery:
http://album.warpshadow.com/v/HiveFleetGarachnia
CoolMiniOrNot Gallery:
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/Katan+the+Unleashed
5th Dimension Blog:
http://5-th-dimension.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 6:02 pm 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:39 am
Posts: 2115
Location: Stratford ON
AAaaa that's good to know... I didnt know that... and now I feel like a total derp because I did outflank and spawn in local tournaments ><; I know everyone there though and a lot of us thought it was ok. I only recall it being brought up once, but we didnt look into it too much, probaly because we were near last place and it was out last game lol.

Ugh I hate it when I screw rules up like that. I don't mean to do it to underhand people, I just didnt know, yet I still feel bad about it.

_________________
Hive Fleet Cicada: http://album.warpshadow.com/v/HiveFleetCicada/
Deviant Art: http://krewl-rain.deviantart.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:39 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2048
Location: Los Angeles
That's okay. Now you know, and knowing is half the battle.

G.I. JOE!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:42 pm 
Offline
Big One

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:01 am
Posts: 594
Location: Glens Falls NY
Then it's a discussion worth bringing up. I honestly thought you could, still it may be worth outflanking the big guy. Just leave him were he'll be safe for a turn

_________________
Such beautiful name with a dark secret. Welcome to the nightmare that is HIVE FLEET LAMIA!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:04 pm 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:39 am
Posts: 2115
Location: Stratford ON
Still is worth outflanking. Nothing like a outflanking troop that can poop more troops. It's a great distraction too and can cause target priority headaches.

_________________
Hive Fleet Cicada: http://album.warpshadow.com/v/HiveFleetCicada/
Deviant Art: http://krewl-rain.deviantart.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:16 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2048
Location: Los Angeles
Nothing like an outflanking MC. If you catch your opponent napping, you can walk on and charge a stationary vehicle, then pummel it with MC 2d6 to Pen goodness.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:33 am 
Offline
Big One

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:01 am
Posts: 594
Location: Glens Falls NY
A multiple tervigon list would flourish with this, two tyrants with HC. 3 tervigons. You should be able to flood on 3 sides. Wicked.

_________________
Such beautiful name with a dark secret. Welcome to the nightmare that is HIVE FLEET LAMIA!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:00 pm 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2048
Location: Los Angeles
Can't do that, either. Hive Commander allows only one Troop choice to Outflank. Two Hive Tyrants with Hive Commander (a) don't stack the +1 bonus and (b) only one Troop choice can Outflank, period. Check the Tyranid FAQ from GW for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:46 pm 
Offline
Big One

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:01 am
Posts: 594
Location: Glens Falls NY
Damn, I knew the +1 didn't stack but the outflank too.

_________________
Such beautiful name with a dark secret. Welcome to the nightmare that is HIVE FLEET LAMIA!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 6:33 pm 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 6:44 am
Posts: 2427
Location: Germany Trier
Tropic Thunder wrote:
Check the Tyranid FAQ from GW for details.



Damn those bug haters! :wink:

_________________
Warpshadow Gallery:
http://album.warpshadow.com/v/HiveFleetGarachnia
CoolMiniOrNot Gallery:
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/Katan+the+Unleashed
5th Dimension Blog:
http://5-th-dimension.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tervigon surprise
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:39 pm 
Offline
Big One

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:01 am
Posts: 594
Location: Glens Falls NY
Lol exactly.

Speaking of which. How long till the next rulebook? Auguest isn't it?

_________________
Such beautiful name with a dark secret. Welcome to the nightmare that is HIVE FLEET LAMIA!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Web Design for Warpshadow.com by SMIS Ltd.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group