Warpshadow.com

An unofficial discussion board dedicated to the Tyranids of Warhammer 40,000 (tm Games Workshop)
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:34 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I've been asleep for too long
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2015 11:17 pm 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:55 am
Posts: 250
Location: Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas
I'm only recently returned to actually looking at the game and what you can build a force around.

Can someone verify for me that Formations can be taken in any number; but that each formation cannot be composed of overlapping units. IE - For instance a Living Artillery Node (Exocrine, Biovores, Tyranid Warriors) and a Synaptic Swarm (T. Prime and 3 broods of Tyranid Warriors) if taken in the same force would necessitate 4 broods of Tyranid Warriors correct?

It seems like the rules are saying this, but I'm still stuck in an early 6e mindset at best. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I've been asleep for too long
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:00 pm 
Offline
Little One
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:45 am
Posts: 183
Location: Scotland. Glasgow
Hey 6262,

yes, to both your questions!

You can indeed take multiples of the same formation and as many formations as you like. And yes, in the example you gave, you would require 4 broods of Tyranid Warriors. The Living Artillery Node Warriors wouldn't gain the benefits of the Synaptic Swarm and vice versa.

Cheers,
Iron Nid


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I've been asleep for too long
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 7:12 pm 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:55 am
Posts: 250
Location: Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas
Thanks nid. I'm trying to pick up 7th in just a few short weeks after a multi year hiatus so that a buddy and I can not embarrass ourselves in public in a few weeks.

Can a spore pod transport a squad from a formation? Or does the squad need to share the same detachment?

-out of synapse


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I've been asleep for too long
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:33 am 
Offline
Little One
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:45 am
Posts: 183
Location: Scotland. Glasgow
It can indeed, the pod itself just gains no benefits from the formation.

As stated in the pod's Transport Spore rule:
Quote:
A Tyrannocyte does not use up a slot on the FOC . . . Declare which unit is being carried during deployment


The only restrictions are of course the transport capacity of 20 normal dudes or 1 MC.

Cheers,
Iron Nid


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I've been asleep for too long
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:25 am 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:55 am
Posts: 250
Location: Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas
Sweet monkey parts! That one pod is a serious army knife. I can just change the payload each round of n an event if need be.

I may have to get second one some day then.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Web Design for Warpshadow.com by SMIS Ltd.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group