Warpshadow.com

An unofficial discussion board dedicated to the Tyranids of Warhammer 40,000 (tm Games Workshop)
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: STARTING A NEW HIVEFLEET? Here is some info for NidNeophytes
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:39 pm 
Screamer Killer

As per Hive's suggestion, here is a dedicated thread where seasoned Tyranid veterans can suggest the basics to gamers that are just starting a Tyranid army. Please post general advice here. This thread is meant to decrease the number of threads that essentially ask the same thing: "I'm new to Nids, what do I need?"

I would advise any new players to take a gander at The Hivemind's Glossary for explanations of the abreviations that seasoned Tyranid veterans use. Some of the terms are more general-40k ones, but there are a number that apply to Tyranids.

Mr_Pink's Tyranid Blog For Art and Sculpting and Stuff

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 3:52 pm 
Zoanthrope

As busy as I am, I often try to respond to all the "rate my hive fleet" threads, but I often fall very short. And very often, what I have to say is more than just a few sentences, which leads the lazy person in me to not even start...
It's just that attitude that has Mr. Pink pointing me this way for this thread.

I'll start off by saying something that many people don't agree with:

THERE IS NO BAD CHOICE IN THE TYRANID CODEX

Every single entry is great in it's own way, but you'll need to learn that "way" and play to your strengths. I don't care what anyone says. Maybe it's arrogance, maybe it's stupidity - but I stand by that statement.
And I'll do my best to help describe how things should come together, in a series of posts...

First off, Tyranids 101: "Wave Theory"

No matter what choices you make, all successful tyranid armies function along the "wave theory". That is to say, your army will inevitably arrive in "waves"