An unofficial discussion board dedicated to the Tyranids of Warhammer 40,000 (tm Games Workshop)
It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

Can you live with this as the majority informed opinion / educated guess?
Yes 93%  93%  [ 14 ]
No, and I will explain coherently and with page references) 7%  7%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 15
Author Message
 Post subject: Warpshadow FAQ - Tyranid Weapon Biosymbiotes
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 8:13 pm 
Great Devourer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 4:13 pm
Posts: 800

As before, this is an attempt to summarize the majority opinion/interpretation based upon what we have from the Codex and BGB as they currently stand.

Once the poll is over, this will be posted in a web page on Warpshadow.com.

And now, I'll duck for cover! :lol:

Ranged Symbiotes [30]

“A creature with two or more ranged bio-weapons may only choose to fire one of them per Shooting phase unless it is a Monstrous Creature, in which case two weapons may be fired. A Tyranid that carries two of the same ranged weapon symbiotes counts them as twin-linked.” [CT30]

Q: Given the above, how does a TMC armed with 2 Venom Cannon, (which cost twice as much as the full cost of one Venom Cannon which fires at assault X) fire?
WA: The simplest and most conservative answer is - a twin-linked Venom Cannon with assault X shots.
Alternate answers: A) Fire each Venom Cannon once at assault X; B) Fire both Venom Cannons counting them both as twin-linked assault X C) something else

Q: Given the above, how does a TMC armed with two twin-linked Devourers (total of 4 Devourers modelled) fire? Double twin-linking? Does the second pair have no effect?
WA: A tough question, but let's look past the Codex. First, "no single dice can be re-rolled more than once regardless of the source of the re-roll" [BGB, 5]; which should rule out "double" twin-linking, or re-rolling misses twice. If the codex had a special rule for double twin-linking, we might worry more. Second, units do exist in the game that have multiple pairs of twin-linked weapons and they fire them individually, and it would be odd to gain nothing at all from buying a second set of Devourers. So, we are going with - Fire each twin-linked Devourer once at assault 2X, re-rolling misses.

Close Combat Biomorphs [31]

Q: If my TMC has Crushing Claws and a Ranged Bio-Weapon, how many shots does it fire?
A: That is covered in the Crushing Claws entry [CT31].

Q: Do Rending Claws affect Bio-Plasma?
A: The fact is, as written, one can make the argument that RC affects BP - "Tyranids with Rending Claws gain the Rending ability for all their close combat attacks" and BP allows one to "make a single extra close combat attack"[CT31]. However, BP is specifically a big blob of spit that occurs out of sequence with the other attacks, as opposed to just another variety of tooth and claw attack[CT31]. The Codex does point out that Monstrous Creature and Implant Attack do not affect BP, further reinforcing the notion of a separate, special attack unto itself. For now, we are going to assume that RC does not affect BP, although we admit that it is more of a "common sense" argument and we wish we had stronger rules wording to back it up.

Q: Does the Lash Whip & Bonesword combo grant an extra attack in close combat for a second weapon?
A: No. "[Scything Talons] is the only way that Tyranids gain extra attacks in close combat for multiple weapons" [CT31, last sentence under Scything Talons].

The shadow admin
(sounds cooler than saying, "I am not around at all.")

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Web Design for Warpshadow.com by SMIS Ltd.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group