Warpshadow.com

An unofficial discussion board dedicated to the Tyranids of Warhammer 40,000 (tm Games Workshop)
It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 8:17 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Scythed Heirodule Questions: Agile & Onslaught, Tyrannocyte
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:07 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2048
Location: Los Angeles
I just received my first Tyranid FW model--a Scythed Heirodule--and I'm trying to understand the nuances of its Agile special rule: (a) what options are available without Onslaught in the equation, and (b) how Onslaught operates with it.

First, the Agile rule:
IA4 p.71 wrote:
In the Shooting phase, a Scythed Heirodule can choose to either
- Fire a single weapon and then Run
- Fire no weapons at all and Run twice.


It seems by the wording here that a Scythed Heirodule can only choose these two options, meaning that any intention to shoot the one ranged weapon it has requires a run immediately after. This also means I can't charge if I shoot, so if I want to charge I would have to do nothing in the Shooting phase. Is this correct, or am I reading too much into this?

For the second question, here's Onslaught:
Tyranids Codex p.69 wrote:
...Whilst this power is in effect, the target unit can both Run and then shot in its Shooting phase.


Does this override either of the Agile options listed? Under normal circumstances the fact that a unit can Run but cannot shoot is stipulated in the core rulebook, so Onslaught already overrides that established rule. Agile breaks this by allowing two Runs to take place, or a Run after an initial shot. I'll skip the assumption I can do a simple Run-then-shoot at all pending opinion on my first question, but regarding the second option of Running twice and given the precedent that Onslaught already overrides the normal Run but cannot Shoot rule from the core rules, could I choose to:
- Run, Shoot and Run again; or
- Run twice and Shoot?

My third question deals with the definition of a Gargantuan Creature. From the core rulebook:
BRB p.70 wrote:
Gargantuan Creatures are Monstrous Creatures (pg 67) that have the additional rules and exceptions given below....


The applicable Tyrannocyte rule from Leviathan:
Leviathan p.56 wrote:
Transport Spore: ...It can carry a single unit with the Tyranids Faction and has a Transport Capacity of 20--Monstrous Creatures count as 20 models for the purposes of Transport Capacity....Once a Tyrannocyte Deep Strikes, a unit carried by it must disembark. Place the unit such that every model is wholly within 6" of the Tyrannocyte and none are within 1" of an enemy or within impassable terrain....


As Gargantuan Creatures are Monstrous Creatures with additional rules affixed to them, does this mean a Gargantuan Creature with a base that doesn't exceed 6" in width can be transported in a Tyrannocyte? Or is the "Monstrous Creatures" reference a direct call-out to the Monstrous Creature unit type and Gargantuans are disqualified regardless what base width they might have? I suspect the latter but would like the community's opinion/experience on this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scythed Heirodule Questions: Agile & Onslaught, Tyrannoc
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:12 pm 
Offline
Norn Queen wut can has cookie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:11 am
Posts: 2262
Location: the Netherlands
Agile: You can chose to do either of those. You can also shoot normally, so you can shoot 2 weapons and then declare an assault. The wording is a bit weird, but that's how I always interpreted it: as a change to the run rule, rather than the whole shooting phase.

onslaught: I believe I'd personally be hesitant to use it any other way than run - shoot twice. Though a valid point could be made for run, shoot once, run. I can in no way see run run shoot, or run run run.

gargantuan creature, while being a monstrous creature with additional rules, is actually a unit type, not a special rule. As the tyranocyte says monstrous creatures count as 20, that does not include the unit type gargantuan creature.

Disclaimer: this is mostly rules as interpreted. else I'd have brought in page references and more notes. :)

_________________
Girl Gamers

Hive Fleet Charybdis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Scythed Heirodule Questions: Agile & Onslaught, Tyrannoc
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:32 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2048
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks for the info. Much appreciated! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Web Design for Warpshadow.com by SMIS Ltd.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group