Warpshadow.com

An unofficial discussion board dedicated to the Tyranids of Warhammer 40,000 (tm Games Workshop)
It is currently Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:15 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Swooping FMCs and Failing Vortex of Doom
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:56 pm 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2048
Location: Los Angeles
Something I just noticed was the Telekinesis Vortex of Doom power, which can be utilized by a Flyrant and wind up backfiring on you. The rule states that you place the blast marker on the Psyker.

Is this a case of obvious "spirit of the rule" and it's allowed even though a Swooping FMC cannot be targeted by blasts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swooping FMCs and Failing Vortex of Doom
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:20 am 
Offline
Medium One
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:38 pm
Posts: 254
Location: Grimsby, England
Vortex of Doom is a warp charge: 2 power, so only the swarmlord can cast it, and since he can't fly, he will be hit.

As for your original question, by the rules the template wouldn't hit a flying psyker, but I think it's up to you and your opponent to decide if this is against the spirit of the rules and to house rule it or not. It looks to me like GW didn't consider flying psykers in this one, but I'm struggling to think of a situation where a flying psyker could use the power anyway.

_________________
Real men have 6+ saves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swooping FMCs and Failing Vortex of Doom
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:59 pm 
Offline
Norn Queen wut can has cookie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:11 am
Posts: 2262
Location: the Netherlands
also, I'd say placing the blast masker on the psyker isn't the same as actually hitting the psyker - you place a blast marker over the flyer's base, but can't hit it.

_________________
Girl Gamers

Hive Fleet Charybdis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swooping FMCs and Failing Vortex of Doom
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:28 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 2048
Location: Los Angeles
Centurion wrote:
Vortex of Doom is a warp charge: 2 power, so only the swarmlord can cast it, and since he can't fly, he will be hit.


Ah, good point.

Quote:
As for your original question, by the rules the template wouldn't hit a flying psyker, but I think it's up to you and your opponent to decide if this is against the spirit of the rules and to house rule it or not. It looks to me like GW didn't consider flying psykers in this one, but I'm struggling to think of a situation where a flying psyker could use the power anyway.


Daemon Princes with wings have access to Telekinesis and are able to get up to Psyker 2 or 3, so for them this situation could apply. As I also play Daemons, it's an interesting tactic to use with them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swooping FMCs and Failing Vortex of Doom
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 6:46 am 
Offline
Medium One
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:38 pm
Posts: 254
Location: Grimsby, England
Tropic Thunder wrote:
Daemon Princes with wings have access to Telekinesis and are able to get up to Psyker 2 or 3, so for them this situation could apply. As I also play Daemons, it's an interesting tactic to use with them.


Ah, so they do. I assumed they were like CSM ones that have Pyromancy instead. I'd suggest the standard talking it over with your opponent before the game. Most people will be happy to go with your interpretation since it is a disadvantage to you. I wouldn't worry about anyone calling you out on breaking the spirit of the game if your votex doesn't hit the prince - the rules are clear on this one and it's such an uncommon scenario I don't think anyone can acuse you of taking that build just to ignore the negative effects of one power you might not even get.

_________________
Real men have 6+ saves!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Web Design for Warpshadow.com by SMIS Ltd.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group