Warpshadow.com

An unofficial discussion board dedicated to the Tyranids of Warhammer 40,000 (tm Games Workshop)
It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 4:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 12:18 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:23 am
Posts: 2468
Location: Cumberland, Maryland
Ok, some Space Marine player used an Aegis Defense Line with a Quad Gun.

His RHINO fired the Quad Gun. The rule says a MODEL may fire the gun. Ok, this is fine and dandy, but show me again where it says Tyranids cannot?

I recall them not being able to,. Would this go for Daemons as well?

_________________
Check out my Award-Winning Horribly Painted 'Nids

I Spent 90% of My Money on Women and Warhammer. The Rest I Wasted....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 3:44 am 
Offline
Medium One
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 6:38 pm
Posts: 254
Location: Grimsby, England
Have you ever wanted to shoot down a traitor with a Quad gun from the comfort of your Rhino? Ever needed to intercept the xenos with an Icarus Lascannon, but the climate control in your chimera has just got going, or your favourite hymn has just come onto the vox caster? Well now with new, ancient STC technology you will never have these problems again, thanks to the standard mechanicus remote opperating cable array. Just 4 hours set up, application of sacred oils and prayers to the machine god, and your fully mobile troop transport is now your own personal armed bunker!


Seriously this must be in an FAQ somewhere, it seems very odd.

The nids being unable to fire the guns is in an FAQ I think. It's a rule specific to nids, so daemons are still fine to use the weapons.

_________________
Real men have 6+ saves!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:47 am 
Offline
Hatchling

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:01 pm
Posts: 38
Pretty sure they fAQed this nonsense of vehicles firing the quad guns. More importantly the tyranid rule in question was an faq referring to whether tyranids inside an enemy bastion could fire emplaced weapons there. The answer-NO was then construed to mean tyranids can never fire a weapon in any kind of fortification, even if they bought it themselves.

Wait for the codex. Eventually they will fix it so we use our own fortifications, weapons and maybe even balance out the No Allies bunk which gives everyone such a boost to their Table of organization and equipment, or TO&E.

Or perhaps just tell the cheating git that your carnifex is now going to fire the twin linked lascannons on the land raider he is in base to base with.....
Ronin

_________________
Apparently the gods of cannon fodder are smiling upon us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 3:19 pm 
Offline
Great Devourer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 5:39 am
Posts: 5676
Location: Canberra, Australia
MysteryShadow wrote:
....but show me again where it says Tyranids cannot?
I recall them not being able to,. Would this go for Daemons as well?
Q: Are Tyranid units inside buildings (i.e. the Bastion) subject to
instinctive behaviour tests? Furthermore, are they able to manual fire
emplaced weapons or weapon
(they mean gun) emplacements?
A: No to both questions.

That comes from the top of page 3 of the Tyranid FAQ's. (It is the first FAQ after the errata and amendments.) I'm actually okay with tyranids not being able to use either gun emplacement or emplaced weapon in a fortification from a background point of view. Tyranids aren't tool users. All tyranid weapons are either part of the creature (rending claws, scything talons, the biovores spore mine launcher) or are one or more symbiotic creature(s) (lashwhips, boneswords, fleshborers to heavy venom cannons). Daemons are tool users and I'm okay with using a gun emplacement or emplaced weapon. The rules allow it, and nurglings firing a quadgun could almost be a scene straight from Gremlins. :P



Centurion wrote:
Have you ever wanted to shoot down a traitor with a Quad gun from the comfort of your Rhino? Ever needed to intercept the xenos with an Icarus Lascannon, but the climate control in your chimera has just got going, or your favourite hymn has just come onto the vox caster? ...
It is like the rules author had been an armoured vehicle crewman. :wink: I found those guys so very inventive in ways to perform every aspect of life from their vehicles.

_________________
"I know you may find the Tyranids physically repellent to look at but believe you me, you don't want to let them out of your sight." Hojan Storall Technomagos of the Adeptus Mechanicus

http://album.warpshadow.com/v/Yaleling/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:50 pm 
Offline
Little One
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:16 am
Posts: 158
But I'm quite comfortable with my BS0 Broodlord standing inside my Bastion which then allows it to autofire on BS2 - don't allow us re-rolls for witchfire spells? then screw you I'll make that inanimate building come alive with something that has the targeting ability of a dehydrated barnacle!

_________________
For little plastic men - www.40kaddict.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:01 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 6:44 am
Posts: 2427
Location: Germany Trier
If there is no FAQ its in the rules. Let the poor Rhino fire its Quad Gun. There are other rule loopholes for tyranids out there. Every non synpase creature has a 2+ cover save. Isnt that ok? xD I am fine with this :D

_________________
Warpshadow Gallery:
http://album.warpshadow.com/v/HiveFleetGarachnia
CoolMiniOrNot Gallery:
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/Katan+the+Unleashed
5th Dimension Blog:
http://5-th-dimension.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:07 am 
Offline
Hatchling

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:01 pm
Posts: 38
Terrorfex wrote:
Every non synpase creature has a 2+ cover save. Isnt that ok? xD I am fine with this :D


I second the suggestion of a tyranid racial cover save. And the new Shadows of the warp shall be... All shooting at tyranids requires a test as in Darkness, but rolled on a single D6 .... No you get no multiplier, D6 is your range for shooting at Nids. (b~_^)b

Ronin

_________________
Apparently the gods of cannon fodder are smiling upon us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:07 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 6:44 am
Posts: 2427
Location: Germany Trier
I am not suggesting - Tyranids HAVE a 2 + cover save if you do it right. :P

_________________
Warpshadow Gallery:
http://album.warpshadow.com/v/HiveFleetGarachnia
CoolMiniOrNot Gallery:
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/Katan+the+Unleashed
5th Dimension Blog:
http://5-th-dimension.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 6:41 pm 
Offline
Broodling
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Terrorfex wrote:
I am not suggesting - Tyranids HAVE a 2 + cover save if you do it right. :P

Please explain your assertion or point me to the thread if you have already done so elsewhere.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aegis Line with Quad Gun
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:18 am 
Offline
Biotitan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 6:44 am
Posts: 2427
Location: Germany Trier
faidlar wrote:
Terrorfex wrote:
I am not suggesting - Tyranids HAVE a 2 + cover save if you do it right. :P

Please explain your assertion or point me to the thread if you have already done so elsewhere.


If you're not under synapse and so you can go to ground you can do so behind an aegis line- you get a 2+ cover save. next round you dont need to do a instinctive beaviour test since gone to ground units dont need to. Next movement phase you walk so that units are under synapse again and Bäm - you're ready to go. Just imagibe what 3 huge units of ravernes can do when having a 2 + cover save before charging next round

_________________
Warpshadow Gallery:
http://album.warpshadow.com/v/HiveFleetGarachnia
CoolMiniOrNot Gallery:
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/Katan+the+Unleashed
5th Dimension Blog:
http://5-th-dimension.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Web Design for Warpshadow.com by SMIS Ltd.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group