Warpshadow.com

An unofficial discussion board dedicated to the Tyranids of Warhammer 40,000 (tm Games Workshop)
It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Weird Red Terror Question
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:19 pm 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:51 pm
Posts: 314
Hey everyone,

I was flipping through the Tyranid Codex, and reread the Red Terror entry for "Swallow Whole." I noticed there wasn't any restrictions to infantry only. It just says the unit.

Does this mean that if a Land Raider is wounded enough that The Red Terror could choke down the rest of the parts?

I thought it was weird, and also funny the concept of The Red Terror swallowing tanks and Monsters. =)

Did I miss something major, or in the right situations, can that actually happen? =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird Red Terror Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:15 am 
Offline
Little One
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:57 am
Posts: 156
Location: Odense, Denmark
Isn't it testing the wound charactaristic and not just remaining wounds?

_________________
Teodo
* Insert cool note here*
Splinter Fleet Sleipnir


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird Red Terror Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:37 am 
Offline
Monstrosity
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:53 pm
Posts: 1157
Until the FAQ corrects it? Yeah, as long as you roll more than the wounds that are left...

WILDLY overpowered, and yes it'll get fixed, and yes your opponent will hate you if you, say, swallow their Orca, but..."rules as written," you are technically correct.

_________________
"They mostly come out at night...mostly."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird Red Terror Question
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:51 pm 
Offline
Little One
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:57 am
Posts: 156
Location: Odense, Denmark
Just checked the rule. It does say:

"Roll a D6, and if the result is equal to or higher than the highest Wounds characteristic of the unit, one model from that unit is slain"

So it does look like it is the charactaristic and not the current wounds.

_________________
Teodo
* Insert cool note here*
Splinter Fleet Sleipnir


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird Red Terror Question
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:00 pm 
Offline
Big One

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:01 am
Posts: 592
Location: Glens Falls NY
even so it still makes it up to a 6. that includes a good portion of characters, monsters, demons, and lesser mechs like walkers and speeders i think.

_________________
Such beautiful name with a dark secret. Welcome to the nightmare that is HIVE FLEET LAMIA!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird Red Terror Question
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:05 pm 
Offline
Medium One

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:51 pm
Posts: 314
Teodo wrote:
Just checked the rule. It does say:

"Roll a D6, and if the result is equal to or higher than the highest Wounds characteristic of the unit, one model from that unit is slain"

So it does look like it is the charactaristic and not the current wounds.



Awesome, thank you for the clarity. My derp brain kept reading it as current wound statistic.

It does feel good to know that it can't down a landraid. Funny, but it'd the wrong type of funny. =)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Web Design for Warpshadow.com by SMIS Ltd.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group